Client Goals 1: How to Avoid Aimless Drifting

A few years ago, my client took me sailing. I am a novice and relied on his expertise, which for some reason was sorely lacking that day. There were a number of technical difficulties to start; after an hour, we finally left the shore. We did not get very far before we ended up drifting here and there without any clear destination in mind. I thought to myself, is this what I drove 2 hours for? Of course, I have been able to chide him for years about this experience so it ended up being worth it.

Unfortunately, when it comes to legal matters, too often clients and their lawyers manage deals and disputes in quite the same way. There is a lot of drifting and lack of skill, and it ends up not being a laughing matter.

In dealing with any legal matter, having a crystal clear goal and destination is essential. Anyone who has been embroiled in a legal dispute or contentious transaction knows that emotions are ramped up. When emotions are ramped up, there is a strong tendency to be reactive and  impulsive. This type of behavior rarely suits your ultimate goal.

Think of a past or present dispute or transaction and ask yourself, “Is my goal crystal clear?  Does my immediate goal support my long term goals?  If I achieve my goal, how will it benefit me? Is this the best goal possible for me or my business? Am I acting on my intelligence (as I should be) or my emotions?”

By asking yourself these questions, you will be able to set a clear destination for your legal matter and avoid unproductive and costly drifting.

Comments
3 Responses to “Client Goals 1: How to Avoid Aimless Drifting”
  1. William Ketel says:

    Knowing and stating the desired results of almost any action is certainly a very handy way to start. In engineering it becomes quite difficult to produce a design until one knows what the design must deliver. Otherwise, at best, a bloated project will result.
    So the concept of defining a goal at a very early stage is certainly very wise and quite prudent, and in general, excellent advice.

  2. Oh how sad. Legal sanity would seem to be a place to remember emotions are part of the case. HOW we act on them is key.. but pretending they pay no part is INsanity!

  3. Great post thanks for sharing! I will definitely take this into consideration!

Leave a comment